Squash Player RESULTS

The World of Squash
at Your Fingertips

About SP
Squash on TV
UK Counties
World Links
Online Store
Books, Subs, Videos

Squash Directory
Where to get it all

Classified Section
Job, Jobs, Jobs ...Something to sell...


Lee Leads England's Attack In World Junior Team Championships In New Zealand

Lee Leads England's Attack In World Junior Team Championships In New Zealand

Surrey 16-year-old Joe Lee has been selected to lead England in the Prince Men's World Junior (U19) Team Squash Championships next month in New Zealand.


Lee, the England U19 No1 from West Molesey, will be joined in the squad by Chris Tasker-Grindley, 18, from Cheltenham in Gloucestershire; Tom Pashley, 18, from near Haywards Heath in Sussex; James Snell, 18, from Exeter in Devon; and Adrian Waller, 16, from Enfield in Middlesex.


The 14th Men's World Junior Team Championships take place in Palmerston North in New Zealand from 23-28 July, immediately following the World Individual Junior Championship which gets underway on Sunday 16 July.  England have won the team title four times, the last time in 2000, and have reached the final on five further occasions.


"We will be under a lot of pressure at these championships, where defending champions Pakistan will be strong, and Egypt, led by the defending individual champion and world No20 Ramy Ashour, are also likely to be seeded ahead of us.  But we have a talented young squad who are extremely well-prepared," said England Squash High Performance Coach David Campion.


"As we have seen in previous championships - where our preparation is strong and our team spirit is high, we will be difficult to beat," added Campion.


Joe Lee, the British National U17 champion, was the only English finalist in the British Junior Open Championships in January reaching the U17 climax.  Lee is coached at St George's Hill club in Weybridge by his father Danny Lee, himself a former England junior international.


Tasker-Grindley, the 2004 British National U17 champion, reached the European Junior Championship semi-finals in April, against his seeding.  This will be the second World Junior Championships' appearance for Pashley, the 2003 British National U15 champion, who also played in the 2004 event in Pakistan. 


James Snell, the 2000 British National U13 champion, won the Welsh Junior Open crown earlier this year. 


Adrian Waller is also 16 and, like Lee, will be eligible to compete in the 2008 World Junior Championships in Switzerland.  The British U13 National champion in 2002 and the U15 champion two years later, Waller can also boast England appearances in the European U15 championships in 2004 and the European U17 championships in 2005 and 2006

Ashour On Verge Of Historic World Title Win

Egypt's Ramy Ashour is seeded to become the first man in history to win the Men's World Junior Squash Championship title twice according to the draw for the 2006 Prince-sponsored event in Palmerston North, New Zealand, which is announced today (Tuesday) by the World Squash Federation (WSF).


The 2006 individual championship, which has attracted 126 players from 19 countries, takes place from 16-22 July, and is followed by the World Junior Team Championship from 23-28 July.


Ashour shocked the squash world two years ago when aged 16, and seeded only to reach the last eight he romped through the event in Islamabad, Pakistan, to become the fourth Egyptian to win the crown since the inaugural event in 1980.


The 18-year-old from Cairo, who has now burst into the top 20 PSA world rankings, is expected to face No2 seed Aamir Atlas Khan in the final in a repeat of his 2004 semi-final against the unseeded Pakistani.


Ashour leads a group of four Egyptians who are seeded to reach the last eight including third seed Omar Mosaad, a double British Junior U17 Open champion from Cairo; and 5/8 seeds Mohd Ali Anwar Reda (the reigning British U17 Open champion) and Tarek Momen, a former British U13 and U15 Open champion. 


Germany's European Junior champion Simon Rosner is the fourth seed, while local interest will be led by Evan Williams, a 16-year-old from Wellington who is a 9/16 seed.


Complete 1st round draw:     

[1] Ramy Ashour (EGY)          bye         

Vikram Malhotra (IND) v Ahmed Hassan (ZIM)      

[17/32] Rory Byrne (IRL) v Joel Boman (AUS)       

Edward Dromgool (NZL) v Petteri Siren (FIN)        

[9/16] Keith Pritchard (CAN) v Christopher Callis (USA)        

Craig Farrell (NZL) v Brad Kemp (AUS)

[17/32] Choong Kam Hing (MAS) v Manek Mathur (IND)        

Chris Tasker-Grindley (ENG) v James Skifffington (NZL)     

[5/8] Farhan Mehboob (PAK) v Karri Salonen (FIN)               

David Canner (USA) v Tatsuya Shinkubo (JPN)    

[17/32] Ammar Al-Tamimi (KUW) v Reiko Peter (SUI)             

Norman Junge (GER) v Richard Dodd (RSA)         

[9/16] Evan Williams (NZL) v Elvinn Keo (MAS)     

Matthew Nation (NZL) v Karim Dabaah (ENG)       

[17/32] Harinder Pal Sandhu (IND) v Fung Ji Yang (HKG)     

Zac Alexander (AUS) v Colin West (CAN)            

[4] Simon Rosner (GER) v Frank Hartkoren (NED)

Christopher Lloyd (NZL) v Christopher Plimpton (USA)         

[17/32] Andrew McDougall (CAN) v Benjamin Fischer (SUI)

Parth Sharma (IND) v Nathan Kam (AUS)              

[9/16] Bilal Zaman (PAK) v Alex Ingham (ENG)      

Richard Colburn (RSA) v Cameron Jamieson (NZL)              

[17/32] Nathan Stevenson (AUS) v Bumpei Kawano (JPN)  

Josh Larkin (AUS) v Jordan Wagstaff (NZL)        

[5/8] Tarek Momen (EGY) v Shamlan Mohammed (KUW)      

Alexander Jury (AUS) v Lance Beddoes (NZL)    

[17/32] Pyry Poikolainen (FIN) v Tim Cowell (AUS)                

Ainsley Gannaway (ZIM) v Byron Peehi-Floyd (NZL)           

[9/16] Sandeep Jangra (IND) v Alan Tsang (HKG)                

Bastiaan Meulenbelt (NED) v Cameron Morris (AUS)            

[17/32] Tom Pashley (ENG) v Alex Grayson (NZL)               

Randy Lim (MAS) v Todd Ruth (USA)    

Josh Thom (NZL) v Hisham Saleh (KUW)              

[17/32] Parthiban Ayappan (IND) v Rudi Willemse (RSA)      

Omar Tarek Mahm Aly (EGY) v Reed Endresen (USA)         

[9/16] Nicolas Mueller (SUI) v Chris O'Kane (IRL)  

Mikael Siren (FIN) v Aaron Cusick (AUS)               

[17/32] Sander Kock (NED) v Conor Matson (NZL)               

Luke Gordon (NZL) v Florian Silbernagl (GER)      

[5/8] Yasir Butt (PAK) v Mark Froot (USA)            

James Meyer (NZL) v Rex Hedrick (AUS)             

[17/32] James Snell (ENG) v Wian Louwrens (RSA)             

Leo Au (HKG) v Matiu Tekani-McQueen (NZL)      

[9/16] Mohd Asyraf Azan (MAS) v Luke Sims (AUS)            

Naresh Kumar (IND) v Bryce Redman (NZL)         

[17/32] David Letourneau (CAN) v Curtis Harrison (NZL)     

Zardeen Wazir (ZIM) v Aaron Fyfe (AUS)            

[3] Omar Mosaad (EGY) v Shinnosuke Tsukue (JPN)            

Ivan Yuen (MAS) v Charles Veerkamp (NED)       

[17/32] Trevor McGuinness (USA) v Aatos Mannroos (FIN)

Omar Al Jamaan (KUW) v Ramit Tandon (IND)      

[9/16] Joe Lee (ENG) v Peter Taylor (AUS)           

Yuuta Fukui (JPN) v Jason Cole Niven (RSA)        

[17/32] Dave Glass (CAN) v Wesley Cusick (AUS)               

Conor O'Hare (IRL) v Lui Syder (NZL)   

[5/8] Mohd Ali Anwar Reda (EGY) v Livio Catenazzi (SUI)   

Keegan Burkhart (NZL) v Deepesh Patel (ZIM)     

[17/32] Tom Hoevenaars (NED) v Carsten Schoor (GER)     

Mohamed El Shorbagy (EGY) v Simon O'Shaughnessy (NZL)              

[9/16] Max Lee (HKG) v Ravi Dixit (IND)

Adrian Waller (ENG) v Matthew Durda (AUS)       

[17/32] Matt Reece (AUS) v Mithran Selvaratnam (MAS)      

Todd Harrity (USA) v Naishadh Lalwani (IND)       

[2] Aamir Atlas Khan (PAK)    bye