The World of Squash
at Your Fingertips

About SP
Squash on TV
UK Counties
World Links
Online Store
Books, Subs, Videos

Squash Directory
Where to get it all

Classified Section
Job, Jobs, Jobs ...Something to sell...
Asian Championships 2000
05-12 July, Hong Kong




Malaysian Double in singles finals
Malaysia's Ong Beng Hee became the first Malaysian to win the Asian Championships after a gruelling 73-minute 3-2 victory over Pakistan's Mansoor Zaman in Hong Kong. Reigning champion Nicol David completed a Malaysian double when she defeated Hong Kong's Rebecca Chiu, but she too was made to work hard for a 70-minute 3-2 win.

     Ong Beng Hee bt Mansoor Zaman  9-3 2-9 9-6 3-9 9-4
     Nicol David bt Rebecca Chui  3-9 9-4 0-9 10-9 9-2

Top Malaysians into Finals
World Junior Champion Ong Beng Hee progresses into the final with a 66 minute 3-1 victory over Pakistan's Shamsul Islam. The final will not be the expected all-Malaysian affair, as #2 seed Kenneth Low suffered a 3-0 defeat at the hands of Pakistani giant-killer Mansoor Zaman. In the ladies final defending champion Nicol David will meet local favourite Rebecca Chiu who both duly completed 3-0 semi-final victories. 

5 Malaysians into Semis
Malaysian players continue to live up to their top billing, with Ong Beng Hee and Kenneth Low both scoring comfortable 3-0 quarter-final wins, and Nicol David joined in the Women's semis by compatriots Kuan Choy and Sharon Wee.


Ong Beng Hee bt Mansoor Zaman  9-3 2-9 9-6 3-9 9-4
Mansoor Zaman  bt Kenneth Low  9-7, 9-4, 9-4
Ong Beng Hee  bt Shamsul Islam  9-6, 3-9, 9-4, 10-8
Ong Beng Hee  bt Zubair Jahan Khan  8-10 9-4 9-7 9-1
Shamsul Islam Khan bt Yap Kok Four  3-9 9-4 9-4 9-10 9-6
Mansoor Zaman  bt Ajaz Azmat  9-5 9-7 10-8
Kenneth Low  bt Abdul Faheem Khan 9-5 9-0 10-8

3rd round
[1] Ong Ben Hee (MAS) bt Ritwik Bhattacharya (IND)  10-8 9-0 9-1
[6] Zubair Jahan Khan (PAK) bt Manish Chotrani (IND)  9-110-8 9-2
[4] Shamsul Islam Khan (PAK) bt Saman Thillakaratna (SRI)  9-7 9-6 9-1
[8] Yap Kok Four (MAS) bt Yoshihiro Watanabe (JPN)  10-9 9-3 9-6
[7] Mansoor Zaman (PAK) bt Jackie Lee (HKG)  9-0 9-3 9-1
[3] Ajaz Azmat (PAK) bt MYG Hajiyah (KUW)  9-4 9-3 9-1
[5] Faheem Khan (HKG) bt Vincent Cheung (HKG)  2-9 9-3 9-0 9-5
[2] Kenneth Low (MAS) bt Dhrij Singh (IND)  9-6 9-3 9-0

Nicol David bt Rebecca Chui  3-9 9-4 0-9 10-9 9-2
Nicol David bt Kuan Choy Lin  9-7 9-0 9-2
Rebecca Chiu  bt Sharon Wee  9-4 9-4 10-8
Nicol David  bt Tricia Chuah  9-10 10-8 9-4 9-6
Kuan Choy Lin  bt Della Lee  9-3 0-9 10-8 9-0
Sharon Wee bt Christina Mak  9-6 9-4 9-2
Rebecca Chiu bt Mekhala Subedar  10-8 9-3 9-3
3rd round:
[1] Nicol David (MAS) bt Cris Bonaon (PHI) 9-4 9-3 9-3
[7] Tricia Chuah (MAS) bt Kaoru Tateno (JPN) 9-2 9-1 9-6
[4] Kuan Choy Lin (MAS) bt Mami Nishio (JPN) 3-9 9-7 9-5 9-4
[5] Della Lee (SIN) bt C. Matsiu (JPN) 1-9 9-1 9-0 9-3
[6] Christina Mak (HKG) bt Eri Tsuchai (JPN) 9-0 3-9 9-1 9-5
[3] Sharon Wee (MAS) bt Harrit Wilcox (PHI) 9-10 9-1 9-1 9-0
Mekhala Subedar (IND) bt [8] Serena Lee (MAS) 9-0 9-4 9-0
[2] Rebecca Chiu (HKG) bt Elise Ng (HKG) 9-4 9-1 9-0.

Nicol David

Ong Beng Hee

Event Preview

Malaysia Top seeds for all events ...
The 10th Asian Senior Championships, taking place in Hong Kong from 05-12 July, feature Malaysian top seeds in both men's and women's individual and team events.

Ong Beng Hee is favourite to lift the men's title, with compatriot Kenneth Low at #2, while Malaysia dominates the Women's seedings, headed by World Junior Champion Nicol David.

MEN : 
1. Ong Beng Hee (Malaysia) 
2. Kenneth Low (Malaysia) 
3. Ajaz Azmat (Pakistan) 
4. Shamsul Islam Khan (Pakistan) 
5. Abdul Faheem Khan (Hong Kong) 
6. Zubair Jahan Khan (Pakistan) 
7. Mansoor Zaman (Pakistan) 
8. Yap Kok Four (Malaysia)

1. Nicol David (Malaysia) 
2. Rebecca Chiu (Hong Kong) 
3. Sharon Wee (Malaysia) 
4. Kuan Choy Lin (Malaysia) 
5. Della Lee (Singapore) 
6. Christina Mak (Hong Kong) 
7. Tricia Chua (Malaysia) 
8. Serene Lee (Singapore)

Immediately following the Individual event (5th-8th) is the Team event, with Malaysia again providing the top seeds.

Team Event


A gripping climax to the 10th Asian Team Squash Championships in Hong Kong resulted in Malaysia ending Pakistan's 19-year domination of the men's event, but being upset by hosts Hong Kong in the final of the women's title - thus failing to become the first country to win all four (two individual and two team) titles.

Newly-crowned Asian individual champion Ong Beng Hee put Malaysia ahead in the men's final with a 10-9 9-1 9-6 victory over Mansoor Zaman, a 52-minute straight games repeat of his five-game win in the individual final. 
Defending champions Pakistan levelled the tie when Shamsul Islam Khan beat Malaysia's Yap Kok Four 9-4 9-2 9-4.  It was left to Malaysia's second string Kenneth Low to make up for his surprise exit to Zaman in the individual
semi-finals, by beating Pakistan's Ajaz Azmat 9-1 9-3 4-9 9-5 to clinch the trophy for his country - and end Pakistan's stranglehold on the title since the event's inception in 1981.

In the opening match of the women's final, Malaysia's Asian champion Nicol David suffered a rare defeat, and squandered a two-game lead, to lose 2-9 6-9 10-8 9-6 9-1 to Hong Kong's Rebecca Chiu.  The 21-year-old was forced to dig deep at 7-7 and 8-8 in the third game before going on to exact her revenge over 16-year-old Nicol, to whom she lost in the individual final.  Tricia Chuah brought the defending champions back into contention when she beat the hosts' Dawn Olsen 9-2 9-3 9-1.  A Malaysian victory look assured when Sharon Wee took a two game and 6-0 lead against Hong Kong's Christina Mak.  Spurred on by local support, Mak bravely fought back to become the team's second player to reverse a result in the individual event when she triumphed 1-9 3-9 9-7 10-8 9-6 over Wee, after saving five matchballs in the fourth game.

Men's quarter-finals:  Malaysia bt Thailand 3-0; Hong Kong bt Singapore 3-0;
India bt Japan 3-0;  Pakistan bt Philippines 3-0

Semi-finals:  Malaysia bt Hong Kong 3-0; Pakistan bt India 3-0

Malaysia beat Pakistan 2-1
    Ong Beng Hee beat Mansoor Zaman 10-9 9-1 9-6
    Yap Kok Four lost to Shamsul Islam Khan 4-9 2-9 4-9
    Kenneth Low beat Ajaz Azmat 9-1 9-3 4-9 9-5

Women's semi-finals:  Malaysia bt Singapore 3-0; Hong Kong bt Japan 3-0

Hong Kong beat Malaysia 2-1
    Rebecca Chiu beat Nicol David   2-9 6-9 10-8 9-6 9-1
    Dawn Olsen lost to Tricia Chuah     2-9 3-9 1-9
    Christina Mak beat Sharon Wee   1-9 3-9 9-7 10-8 9-6

Pool Finishing places:
Pool A: 1 Malaysia, 2 India, 3 Singapore, 4 Sri Lanka
Pool B: 1 Pakistan, 2 Hong Kong, 3 Japan, 4 Kuwait
Pool C: 1 Philippines, 2 Chinese Taipei, 3 Macau
Pool D: 1 Thailand, 2 Qatar, 3 Korea

Redraw for Team Event
Following the withdrawal of Jordan from the men's team event the pools have been redrawn, as follows:

Men's Team event draw:
Pool A: Malaysia, India, Singapore, Sri Lanka
Pool B: Pakistan, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Japan
Pool C: Philippines, Chinese Taipei, Macau
Pool D:  Thailand, Korea, Qatar

Women's team event draw: 
Pool A: Malaysia, India, Japan, Thailand, Chinese Taipei
Pool B: Hong Kong, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Korea

 CONTACT:  SP Webmaster     Magazine Editor