The World of Squash
at Your Fingertips

About SP
Squash on TV
UK Counties
World Links

Online Store
Books, Subs, Videos

Squash Directory
Where to get it all

Classified Section
Job, Jobs, Jobs Something to sell ...

Qatar Classic News

The indispensable magazine for serious Squash Players
Subscribe to Squash Player Magazine Now

ElShorbagy and Ibrahim Set for Qatar Classic Showdown as Draw is Released

World No.2 Mohamed ElShorbagy will look to avenge his shock defeat to fellow Egyptian Youssef Ibrahim at last year’s Qatar Classic when they lock horns in the second round of this year’s Q-Terminals Qatar Classic, PSA World Tour Platinum event.

Held between October 17-23 in Doha, the Qatar Classic will see 48 of the world’s leading male squash players battle it out for the $187,500 prize fund and three-time winner Mohamed ElShorbagy will headline the draw ahead of Allam British Open winner Paul Coll, former World Champion Tarek Momen and younger brother Marwan.

ElShorbagy’s surprise loss to Ibrahim at last year’s event provided the springboard for Ibrahim to battle his way into the top 20 later in the season, but ‘The Beast of Alexandria’ will be out for revenge this time around.

Should the World No.2 get the better of his compatriot, a possible meeting with another Egyptian, in Mazen Hesham, could follow in the third round, before possibly facing Fares Dessouky in the quarter-finals. Younger brother Marwan could await in the semi-finals, before a meeting with British Open champion Paul Coll in the final.

New Zealand’s Coll is the No.2 seed for the tournament, and he will begin his campaign in Doha against either France’s Mathieu Castagnet or Englishman Richie Fallows. Welsh No.1 Joel Makin could be Coll’s third round opponent, before possible meetings with Karim Abdel Gawad and Tarek Momen en route to the final.

Momen has good memories at the Khalifa International Tennis and Squash Complex, having lifted the PSA Men’s World Championship crown in November 2019, and he will be hoping for more glory at the venue this year. He starts his campaign against either USA’s Faraz Khan or England’s former World No.1 James Willstrop in the second round.

There will be three Qatari players in action on home soil for the Platinum level event, with the nation’s No.1, Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi, facing Hong Kong’s Tsz Fung Yip in the opening round. Syed Azlan Amjad and Ibrahim Ahmed Al Darwish will both be wildcards for the tournament, and will do battle with England’s Declan James and Germany’s Raphael Kandra in the first round, respectively.

Action from the glass court situated at the Khalifa International Tennis and Squash Complex will be shown live on SQUASHTV, while the semi-finals and finals will also be shown live on the channels of contracted broadcast partners.

For updates on the Q-Terminals Qatar Classic, visit the official website of the PSA World Tour, and follow the PSA World Tour on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

Q-Terminals Qatar Classic: Draw
[1] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY) - [Bye]
[9/16] Youssef Ibrahim (EGY) - [Bye]
[9/16] Mazen Hesham (EGY) - [Bye]
Alan Clyne (SCO) v [17/32] George Parker (ENG)
[17/32] Greg Lobban (SCO) v Ramit Tandon (IND)
Tsz Fung Yip (HKG) v [17/32] Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT)
[17/32] Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP) v Dimitri Steinmann (SUI)
[6] Fares Dessouky (EGY) - [Bye]
[7] Diego Elias (PER) - [Bye]
[WC] Syed Azlan Amjad (QAT) v [17/32] Declan James (ENG)
[17/32] Cesar Salazar (MEX) v Sebastien Bonmalais (FRA)
[9/16] Gregoire Marche (FRA) - [Bye]
[17/32] Raphael Kandra (GER) v [WC] Ibrahim Ahmed Al Darwish (QAT)
Mahesh Mangaonkar (IND) v [17/32] Baptiste Masotti (FRA
[17/32] Borja Golan (ESP) v Todd Harrity (USA)
[4] Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY) - [Bye]
[3] Tarek Momen (EGY) - [Bye]
Faraz Khan (USA) v [17/32] James Willstrop (ENG)
[17/32] Lucas Serme (FRA) v Vikram Malhotra (IND)
Shahjahan Khan (USA) v [17/32] Tom Richards (ENG)
[9/16] Youssef Soliman (EGY) - [Bye]
[9/16] Omar Mosaad (EGY) - [Bye]
[9/16] Saurav Ghosal (IND) - [Bye]
[8] Mostafa Asal (EGY) - [Bye]
[5] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY) - [Bye]
[9/16] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) - [Bye]
[17/32] Adrian Waller (ENG) v Nathan Lake (ENG)
Arturo Salazar (MEX) v [17/32] Mohamed ElSherbini (EGY)
[17/32] Nicolas Mueller (SUI) v Patrick Rooney (ENG)
[9/16] Joel Makin (WAL) - [Bye]
[17/32] Mathieu Castagnet (FRA) v Richie Fallows (ENG)
[2] Paul Coll (NZL) - [Bye]